1. K-State home
  2. »Kansas State University Polytechnic Campus
  3. »Academics
  4. »Degree Options
  5. »HDFS degree
  6. »Certified Family Life Educator

Certified Family Life Educator

Graduates of the HDFS program who have completed all of the degree requirements including the internship series are qualified to apply for the Provisional Certified Family Life Educator (CFLE) designation administered by the National Council on Family Relations. Our program provides the necessary training to build competency in the 10 core disciplinary areas required to become a CFLE.

Certification recognizes a proven background and understanding in each of 10 family life content areas. While CFLEs may work specifically in one discipline, such as parent education or marriage enrichment, their understanding of the many areas that affect today's families enables them to be more effective in their efforts to educate and work with individuals and families. The Certified Family Life Educator designation recognizes the educational, preventive, and enriching nature of their work. Additionally, standards identified for certification help to increase awareness and understanding of family life education as a profession.

10 core disciplinary areas

  • Families and Individuals in Societal Contexts
  • Internal Dynamics of Families
  • Human Growth and Development Across the Lifespan
  • Human Sexuality
  • Interpersonal Relationships
  • Family Resource Management
  • Parent Education and Guidance
  • Family Law and Public Policy
  • Professional Ethics and Practice
  • Family Life Education Methodology