On-campus parking is offered by K-State Parking Services. Parking permit sales and misuse fees support the maintenance of the facilities.
Regulations & Enforcement Hours
A parking permit must be displayed in all lots from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, except for residence hall lots which require a residential permit to be displayed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
How to Purchase a Permit
Faculty, staff & student permits must be ordered through K-State Online Parking. Once submitted, the permit will be available for pickup in the Office of Fiscal Services. Step-by-step instructions are available here.
How to Pay a Citation
Citations are issued by Campus Safety & Security. They must be paid within 14 days of being issued. If not paid within this time, a $5 late fee will be added, and the charges will be transferred to the driver's KSIS account, where additional late fees will be assessed according to KSIS policies.
Payments may be made in person with cash or check at the Office of Fiscal Services or online with a credit card using K-State Online Parking.
How to Appeal a Citation
Citations may be appealed by using K-State Online Parking. The appeal must be submitted within 14 days of the citation being issued. Expired parking meter violations may not be appealed.
The Kansas State Polytechnic Parking Citations Appeals Board will decide whether to uphold the citation or dismiss it based on two questions: Was a parking rule or regulation violated? Were there extenuating circumstances causing the violation? The board's decisions are final and may not be further appealed. More information is available in the Parking Citation Appeals Board Procedures.
Information for Visitors
Visitors may purchase temporary permits by visiting the Office of Fiscal Services in person. This allows parking in any available stall.
Without a permit, metered spaces may be used or visitors may use visitor stalls near the Welcome Center and College Center (see the Campus Map for locations).
Visitors having lunch in the cafeteria may park without a permit in the College Center lot from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m.
Free parking may also be provided during free events open to the public.
If a visitor receives a citation while on campus, they may fill out and return the contact information on the back to have one citation per year waived.
About the Parking Committee
The Kansas Board of Regents, through the provisions of Kansas Statutes 74‑3209 through 74‑3216, allows regulations pertaining to the operation and parking of vehicles to be established by Kansas State University. Parking regulations on the Polytechnic campus are reviewed by the Polytechnic Council on Parking Operations, as defined in the college bylaws. This committee includes students, faculty, and staff and provides recommendations to the CEO & Dean of the campus regarding parking policies.
The committee holds monthly meetings that are open to the campus during the fall and spring semesters on the second Tuesday of the month from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. in the Stevens Board Room, located on the second floor of College Center.